Sites in Rhondda Cynon Taf

Sychryd curtain falls Sychryd falls Sychryd tunnel Sychryd River
Rhondda Cynon Taf (RCT) was created in 1996 by uniting three smaller boroughs, all formerly part of Glamorgan, containing such towns as Pontypridd, Tonypandy, Llantrisant and Aberdare. The county extends from the M4 west of Cardiff, northwards to Nant-ddu at the edge of the Brecon Beacons, and includes a small section of Brecon Beacons National Park, between the Hepste and Taf rivers. South of here, the bulk of the county contains five winding valleys, separated by lengthy ridges, scenery typical of south Wales, together with extensive forested land, especially west and south of Aberdare.

There are no major ancient sites in Rhondda Cynon Taf; perhaps the best of the small number of historic ruins is Llantrisant Castle; the fragmented, overgrown but quite atmospheric remains of a 13th century fortification, with an elevated location on a hill at the edge of Llantrisant.

Locations within the national park include the short, deep, scenic gorge of the River Sychryd, the south side of the River Hepste (adjoining the falls of Sgwd yr Eira) and a section of the lower valley of the River Mellte - all part of Waterfall Country - plus about 15 square miles of partly wooded, hilly land containing several minor summits.