All 15 British Isles members of the hypericaceae, or St-John's wort family (originally part of the clusiaceae family) are in the hypericum genus. Plants have opposite, untoothed leaves, sometimes flecked with black or transparent dots, round or square stems, sometimes winged, and flowers of five yellow petals, five green sepals and many yellow stamens.