The plantaginaceae, or plantain family was originally a small grouping, with just three genera, but has been greatly enlarged after transfer of many species from the scrophulariaceae family. The original species, including the plantago genus, have basal leaf rosettes and tiny, clustered, four-lobed flowers, but now there is a wide range of characteristics. The corolla is usually either tubular, opening to two lips, or four-lobed.